1 Comment

what am i feeding my temple…

“Do you not realize that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you and whom you received from God? You are not your own property, then; you have been bought at a price. So use your body for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

I’ve been thinking about these few lines lately. My body is getting older. It no longer does everything I ask it to do. For the most part, I have treated it to good nutrition – if you don’t count diet sodas, candy, chips and crackers. Most people would say that I am thin, and if I can eat that junk what difference does it make? Lately I’m not so sure it’s okay.

Would I bring trash into church and dump it there? Would I pollute the air or the water at my place of worship? Would I say that most of the sanctuary is clean, so what’s a little bit of garbage? On the whole, it’s clean, right? And while we’re on the subject, what about the people who come to church – aren’t we all a bunch of sinners who are already polluting the environment with sin? So how pure is this temple, anyway?

It could be cleaner. I could do better. I could eat healthier – and not just to lose weight, not just to look better, not for reasons of vanity, but because my body would be more ready to do what I ask of it, or, more importantly, what He asks of it. Maybe then my body, and my life, would be more for the glory of God.

Am I strong enough to surrender? Am I receptive enough to allow Him to help me? Whose temple is it, anyway?

One comment on “what am i feeding my temple…

  1. Beautiful thought. I love the comparison. It’s a wonderful way to think of our bodies and our faith. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

