Leave a comment

out of Africa…

David is on his way to Africa. It was last September when he told me about the opportunity he had to apply to be a part of IBM’s Service Corps.  The first words out of my mouth were, “I’m going with you.” It was at that point that I was informed that spouses were not allowed. Needless to say, I was disappointed. It was a month or two later when he was accepted, and then the big wait began. About  4 months ago, we found out he would be going to Africa. I immediately started researching trips with the intention of joining him when his service stint was over and going on our own adventure in the Dark Continent. It wasn’t long before reality stepped in. All tours I could find were either cost prohibitive or full. Some were both. A short time later, David said that he really could not be gone from the office much longer than the month of his assignment. Then, it was the shots and the medicines an American has to take before traveling to Africa, and their cost, specifically. Before too much time passed, it became evident that I would not be going. I understand. It makes sense. I’ll go another time. All of these statements are true. But… I’m still disappointed, but only for me. I’m thrilled for my husband. I’m so excited for him, and I’m tremendously proud of him.

My goal for the next month is to make him proud of me.

I’m planning on using my time to work on some projects and to visit with 2 of our kids and 2 of my nieces, and to cut the grass. We have A LOT of grass. I’ll be working hard on cooking for myself and resisting the urge to be lazy in the kitchen when it’s just me. I’m beginning a new manuscript, and I’m going to finish our soon-to- be born- grandson’s quilt. I’m going to work on my scrapbooks and play with our dogs.

We’ve shopped and packed and planned, and now it’s time to go to the airport. Let the adventures begin. Both of them.

Note: If anyone wants to read about my husband’s journey, he is writing a blog for the duration of his trip. You can find it at dricke.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

