Leave a comment

Daily Prompt: State of Your Year

Daily Prompt: State of Your Year.

This is an interesting prompt, because I usually do a yearly assessment around my birthday which I celebrated a few days ago.

This past year has been one of intense personal scrutiny. I’ve deliberately worked on improving my relationship with God, and that has, in turn blessed my relationship with my husband. It has also made us targets of ridicule and derision from some who believe differently or who refuse to accept His love.  Most of my relationships are stronger than they were twelve months ago, but some have suffered because of my decision to be more forthcoming about my faith. Those who don’t like the change in me probably didn’t have much respect for me anyway. I know I’m better off not trying to hide who I really am.

I’ve written more in the past year than I have in the last decade, and it’s much more satisfying to call myself a writer when I’m actually practicing my craft than it is to manufacture excuses for why I haven’t written. Still and all, I hope that in the next year my writing will be more prolific and of better quality.

Physically I’m in better shape. I still weigh the same. I still exercise regularly and for the most part eat pretty healthfully. I plan to improve upon that in the next year even more.

A year ago, I gave up some activities which I felt were draining me, and deciding where to go next has been a major part of this year’s path of discernment. I’m now ready to try some new endeavors, and to more forgiving of myself if they prove to be less successful than I’d like.

As I look back on the past year, I’m disappointed in some areas of my life. I’m surprised in others. I see room for improvement in all of them, but I still have hope that that’s possible.

Leave a Reply

