2 Comments

close encounters of the frightful kind…

Yesterday I was driving home. I was approaching an intersection, and I had a green light, so I entered the crossroad going the speed limit, maybe a few miles over, when a car with an elderly couple inside turned left right in front of me. I slammed on my brakes and prepared for the impact.  I missed crashing into the passenger side of their car by inches. I can still see the face of the woman in the right-hand front seat of that compact car. She was looking ahead, talking away. She wasn’t fearful of the impending crash. She was completely oblivious, as was the driver of the vehicle! Neither of them had any clue that they just missed what would have been a potentially fatal car accident! I was shaking badly. Others in the vicinity shook their heads at the close call they witnessed. The elderly couple went about their trip having no idea that the driver had put several strangers in danger.

I proceeded on my way home, fighting the tears that welled behind my eyes. All I could think and say is that I was completely invisible to that couple! As far as they were concerned, I wasn’t even there! I felt, I still feel, so alone, so isolated, so unimportant, so unseen. The driver of that car came eerily close to causing a crash which could easily have resulted in killing the woman (probably his wife), himself, and me.  

How often is each of us responsible for impacting others with whom we aren’t even aware we are encountering? How many times have we been oblivious to the consequences of our words and our actions to those around us? How many people are invisible to us as we proceed through our days?

I was very thankful to my guardian angel for sparing me yesterday. Why I was lucky enough for that near miss to happen when I was paying full attention, I’ll never know. Thankfully I wasn’t on my phone; I wasn’t changing the disc on my CD player; I wasn’t distracted by a fellow passenger in my car, and I was able to act quickly.

Although our two cars did not collide yesterday, the incident left me shaken with its impact.

2 comments on “close encounters of the frightful kind…

  1. How often is each of us responsible for impacting others with whom we aren’t even aware we are encountering? How many times have we been oblivious to the consequences of our words and our actions to those around us? How many people are invisible to us as we proceed through our days?

    Thank you for using a scary experience for you to frame an important question for all of us. I am so glad that you are ok and also very grateful for the image and the way that it speaks to our own discipleship. Thank you.

  2. I’m glad you were moved by my piece. I can think of few feelings that are worse than to feel nonexistent or invisible. We all long to be connected, ultimately to God. But He also created us to need each other. I think when we realize our place in this world, it helps us figure out why He made each of us and how we fit into the larger Body of Christ.
    Thanks ever so for your comment.

Leave a Reply

