Leave a comment

the best laid plans…

How many days does it take to go from feeling fine to I don’t remember what it’s like to feel good? I’m going to go out on a limb and say six days. That’s how long I’ve been lying here with “the crud.” The Crud is more than a cold and less than the flu. Think flu minus the fever. At least that’s what it’s been like for me. But that’s not what I’m writing about today. Today’s post is about plans.

My husband and I have three children – three adult children. The oldest, our daughter, lives with her husband in DC. Our middle child, the older son, lives in LA. Our youngest, also a son, lives in Orlando (There’s no two capital letter abbreviation for Orlando.) with his wife and one-year-old son. We haven’t all been together since last year on Christmas Eve and the day before that, which just so happens to be our youngest’s birthday. This year, it’s a similar scene, but our approximately 24 hour time period together will be next week,. A friend of the family is getting married this coming Sunday – in Ft. Lauderdale, which is just 45 minutes north of where the majority of my husband’s relatives live.

This is where the plans come in. My husband had the great idea that since our sons would be at the wedding, we could babysit our grandson so the kids could enjoy the wedding, and the day before, we could get all the Miami relatives together to see our sons, our daughter-in-law and our grandbaby whom none of them have met. On television or the movies it would have worked beautifully. But we live in reality.

The first thread of the plan began to unravel when the Orlando crew decided to leave the baby with his other grandpa, because a one-year-old is not the best traveling companion to take on a five hour car trip late in the evening. Then the young parents found out they did not actually have as much time off from work as they had planned, so they would come down late Saturday and would have to leave right from the wedding reception to get to work early Monday morning. So, my husband changed his plans for Saturday evening, and rescheduled the get-together to Sunday afternoon.  Then our older son announced that he had to film the bridal party at 3:00 that same day. So, my husband sent out yet another email stating that the get together would now be Sunday for brunch.  He and I would drive to Orlando today, pick up our son who flew in from LA yesterday, and take him down to Ft Lauderdale, and then we’d go on to Miami and visit my husband’s parents and grandmother. And then I got sick. Earlier in the week, we had no idea that I wouldn’t be better by today.

Yesterday my ever-flexible mate called his parents, yet again, and said he would be down on Saturday, I wouldn’t be coming, and he would now be travelling with our nephew who was supposed to go home for Christmas yesterday, but had a change of plans…

The plan is now that I will join my husband and our sons and daughter-in-law in Orlando on Monday to celebrate what happens to be my husband’s birthday. Our daughter and her husband will join us the next day, and we’ll have our 24 hours together.  That’s the plan, anyway.

At what point does this become funny?

Leave a Reply

